Posted by: maidrya | January 23, 2012

Flesh & Blood

I’ve slowed down the last couple of days. I had a big deadline for the day job on Friday – that seems to have sucked up more energy than I realized at the time. I’ve met the word count goal, not kept up with the brainstorming/class exercises (at least on Friday & Saturday & so far today, Sunday).

Sometimes I treat myself as a bit of an automaton goal-setter. This is always temporary. And I think the slower tempo of yesterday & today is simply a reflection of that – can’t treat myself as if I’m not flesh & blood that needs a break!

But, to summarize:
Wed., Jan. 18:
Words: 1126
Words Banked: 126 – Total Words Banked: 3564
Total Words to Date: 18481
Did a bit – just a bit of work on class exercises

Thurs., Jan. 19:
Day off this week

Fri., Jan. 20
Words: 1072
Words Banked: 72 – Total Words Banked: 3636
Total Words to Date: 19553
no brainstorming or exercises

Sat., Jan. 21
Words: 1068
Words Banked: 68 – Total Words Banked: 3704
Total Words to Date: 20621
no brainstorming or exercises

I’ve gotta say, it’s nice to hit that 20,000 word threshold. This coming week doesn’t look that busy on the day job (since I’m self-employed, that’s not all good news) – but hopefully, I can work up a head of steam on the writing again.

How are you holding up?

Responses

  1. Looks like you’re really doing awesome! Congrats on breaking 20k. Hope this coming week is everything you need it to be. 🙂

    Keep Writing!

    Dawn

    • Thanks – and thanks for stopping by!

      Judith

  2. That’s amazing progress, Judith! When I’m in new word mode (rather than rewriting or editing mode, like I am now), it’s a very good week for me when I can get over 1000 words a day!

    Keep up the good work and have a great week. 🙂

    • I know what you mean – I’m the same way. In a sense I’m really in “rewrite” mode right now, in that I’m novelizing a screenplay that I’ve written about 6 drafts of. So…I’m not doing this from scratch, by any means. When I start something from scratch, definitely MUCH slower.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. 20K is awesome!!

    I am trying to get back into writing after a few days off. I don’t want to take the weekends off, but I always do. I have to figure out whether I should let that go, or should figure out how to carve out the writing time! 🙂

    Good luck, sounds like you are making progress in spite of a busy life!!

  4. thanks for the encouragement, Heather. I’m working on being more aware of when I really need the break – because if I don’t consciously take them when I need them, I’ll take them unconsciously and they’ll be longer and less effective. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

