Posted by: maidrya | January 25, 2012

Middling Mid-Week

I don’t know why it is – when I imagine free time, I always imagine vast stretches of time when I am completely free, absolutely no other obligations, I can just sit at the computer and write and write. The reality never, at least hardly ever, looks like that. This whole “life is what happens when you’re doing other things” deal is a bitch.

So, I’ve not had as much time as I thought to surge ahead, but have been generally keeping up. I need to learn to place more value on modest, steady progress (as opposed to always envisioning a blaze of glory).

Sun., Jan.22
Words: 1032
Words Banked: 32 – Total Words Banked: 3736
Total Words to Date: 21653
at least one hour working on class exercise

Mon., Jan. 23
Monday was my day off this week, at least as far as the word count on my novel goes.

I did, however, spend at least an hour on the class exercise.

Tues., Jan. 24
Words: 1037
Words Banked: 37 – Total Words Banked: 3773
Total Words to Date: 22690

So far today, Wednesday, I’ve spent a couple of hours on my class exercise – expect to do words on the novel later today.

Responses

  1. Sorry for tuning in late but what class are you taking? Also what are “banked” words? I’m glad I’m not the only one who takes a day off from writing on the WIP. 🙂

    • The class I’m taking is a scene writing class from Corey Mandell – coreymandell.net – for screenwriters.

      I set a goal of 1000 words a day, 6 days a week on the novelization of my screen play (that’s why the word count goal is so high – not starting from scratch.) But, I keep track of how many words I go over because I know at some point in ROW80 I’m going to get overwhelmed by the day job or maybe just plain unmotivated. For that rainy day, I’ll take some words “out of the bank” and use those for meeting my goal. A bit compulsive maybe, but I just like to keep track.

      thanks for stopping by!

      Judith


Leave a Reply

Categories

